Role Mangement

Roles are sets of privileges that provides Users with a group of permissions to perform a variety of actions based on their organizational position.

A Role can only belong to one organization and refers to a specific application within Brillium. It can contain multiple privileges, whilst each privilege can be involved in multiple roles. Administrators have the option to either add a new Role or choose to copy an existing Role.

NOTE

  • Default Roles are automatically created for all new applications based on default Role templates specified in the corresponding application type and can be assigned to any Users and/or Teams.
  • These pre-defined, default Roles can be viewed and duplicated; however, they cannot be edited or deleted.

To create a new Role:

  1. Select Roles from the menu.
  2. Select Add New Role.
  3. In the Details tab:
    1. Enter a Role Name
    2. Select the appropriate Application
  4. In the Privileges tab, select the privileges for that Role.
  5. Select Save.

To copy an existing Role:

  1. Select Roles from the menu.
  2. Locate the desired Role from the listing.
  3. Under Actions, select the Copy icon.
  4. In the Details tab, enter a Role Name.
  5. The Privilegetab will be populated with values of the original record.
  6. If needed, privileges can be checked or unchecked.
  7. Select Save.

Assign Users/Teams to a Role

From the Roles listing page, a Role can easily be assigned to one or several Users and/or Teams.  When a Role is assigned to a Team, every member of the Team can perform actions and get access to data provided by this Role. In this way, the use of Teams greatly simplifies Role assignment and User management.

 

TIPS

  • From the Roles listing page, Roles can be sorted and searched for by Name, DescriptionOrganization, and Application
  • Beneath Actions, administrators can select the appropriate icon to View DetailsCopy, Assign User/Teams, or Delete a Role.
  • From a Role's detail page, administrators can view the Details and Privileges of a Role and edit its Name, Description, and Privileges.
  • An existing Role can not be re-associated with another organization or a different application.