Logout Button Action at End of Respondent's Assessment

When your respondents reach the end of the assessment and have been shown their results, there is typically a "Logout" button they may click to exit the assessment environment. There are several options you may select from to change the way the Logout button behaves:

  1. Hide the Logout button altogether
  2. Close the browser window
  3. Navigate the respondent's browser to a given Web address
  4. Navigate the respondent's browser and launch another assessment

In order to configure any of these options, simply enter the "Basic Assessment Options" page for your assessment, scroll down to the "Post Assessment Options", and configure the settings as described below.

Option 1 - Hiding the Logout Button

If you are planning on providing instructions to the respondent on what to do after the assessment, you may wish to hide the Logout button altogether. This is accomplished by setting the "Logout Button Action" to "None (Hide Logout Button)".

Option 2 - Close the Browser Window

If you wish to close the browser tab or window of the respondent when they click the Logout button, you may do so by setting the "Logout Button Action" to "Close Browser Window". You may also change the button label from the word "Logout" to whatever you'd like using the "Logout Button Label" setting.

Please be aware, there are specific circumstances when it is not possible to close the browser window from script. The biggest factor is how the browser tab was opened in the first place. This is a security limitation inherent within most browsers. Unfortunately, there isn't anything we can do to close the window in these situations. If the window cannot be closed, the respondent will be brought to a new page with the following message on it:

"Your assessment is complete. You may close this browser tab or window."

Option 3 - Navigate to Specified Link

If you would like the respondent to go to a particular Web address (or link) when they click on the Logout button, set the "Logout Button Action" to "Navigate to Specified Link", set the "Link After Assessment" to the fully-qualified URL (i.e. always start with "http://" or "https://"), and optionally change the "Logout Button Label" to whatever you'd like.

Option 4 - Navigate to Selected Assessment

If you would like to launch the respondent into another assessment after having completed this one, set the "Logout Button Action" to "Navigate to Selected Assessment", choose the assessment ID you would like to navigate to using the "Navigate to Assessment" drop down list, and optionally change the "Logout Button Label" to whatever you'd like.

Can't Find Assessment ID in the List?

If you do not see the Assessment ID you wish to launch to, it is because your active account doesn't have the proper security rights to that assessment. You will need to edit the security of your current account and give access to the assessment you wish to link to within another sub-account. Click here for more information on sub-accounts and security.

When Launching an Assessment with Different Custom Fields

If the assessment you are launching via Logout button is in a different sub-account than this assessment, it could be using a different set of custom fields than the current assessment does. Remember, assessments inherit the custom field settings from their owner account.

In these cases, Brillium will do its best to "map" the data between from the custom fields of the first assessment to the custom fields of the linked-to assessment. When performing this mapping, it does the following:

  1. Map based on "Display Name" of the Custom Fields. If custom field 1 of the first assessment has a "Display Name" of "Employee ID", and custom field 3 of the linked-to assessment also has a "Display Name" of "Employee ID", Brillium will map fields "1" to "3". The Employee ID will be placed in the most logical location given these matching Display Names.
  2. Map based on field number. If no match is made on the "Display Name", Brillium will look to see if the corresponding custom field on the linked-to assessment has been filled out yet. If it hasn't been filled out, Brillium will map the field based on field number "1" to "1", "2" to "2", and so on.
  3. No corresponding custom field. If no match is made and there is no corresponding custom field on the linked-to assessment, the custom field value will not be mapped at all. Of course, it will remain intact within the respondent data of the first assessment.

When Launching an Assessment with Different Anonymous Settings

It is very common to link a test or certification type assessment (i.e. one that is not anonymous) to a survey type assessment (i.e. one that you choose to remain anonymous). Brillium is equipped to handle these types of mappings as well.

When the "Anonymous" setting of the assessment is set to "No", mapping occurs as described above. When set to "Yes, With Custom Fields", the first name, last name, and email address fields will not be sent to the linked-to assessment. However the remaining custom fields will be mapped as described above. Finally, when set to "Yes, Without Custom Fields", none of the respondent's information will be sent to the linked-to assessment.


Have more questions? Submit a request



Please sign in to leave a comment.